Te Arapiki Ako
"Towards better teaching & learning"

New Zealand Qualifications Authority

Comment on this item  
Add to your favourites
Remove from your favourites
Add a note on this item
Recommend to a friend
Comment on this item
Send to printer
Request a reminder of this item
Cancel a reminder of this item
Share |
Last updated 22 June 2016 11:45 by NZTecAdmin

The New Zealand Qualifications Authority is supporting the literacy and numeracy strategy by its development of: New Zealand Qualifications in Adult Literacy and Numeracy Education; unit standards in Adult Literacy and Numeracy Education at levels 4-6 of the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF); a suite of literacy and numeracy unit standards at level 1 of the NZQF.

The level 1 literacy and numeracy unit standards have been designed for assessment in both the secondary and tertiary sectors. The understanding of numeracy and literacy that underpins these standards is based on people being able to operate effectively in their everyday lives. These unit standards are supported by a guidance document and freely available assessment support material. The unit standards are also one way for students to meet the National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) literacy and numeracy requirement.  NZQA works closely with all government agencies in supporting the improvement of literacy and numeracy skills of school and adult learners.


If you have any comments please contact us.